New to me KDX220

Discussion specific to the 1995 - 2006 KDX200 (H Series) and 1995 - 2005 KDX220R (A Series) models sold in the USA
ccain85

New to me KDX220

Post by ccain85 »

I just recently purchased a 2002 KDX220. This is my first time owning a 2 stroke. All of my other bikes have been 4 strokes. I know from research that these bikes are a little more mellow compared to other 2 strokes. Obviously I am very unfamiliar with these bikes and the way they deliver there power. After riding it around a bit ive noticed that running through the gears it really flattens out on the top end. Im currently running FMF Gnarly pipe,snorkle removed, 145 main jet and 42 pilot jet. I am also running 40:1 mix. I would think that it would be able to do some decent power wheelies but it just doesnt seem like the power is there. Is there some tuning I need to do and maybe some untapped power im missing out on?
bergilong

Re: New to me KDX220

Post by bergilong »

These bikes are really mellow. It should have low-mid range power. That gnarly pipe is also made for midrange. My 200 has an FMF fatty and it's still not a beast in the top end.
thirdgenlxi
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

New to me KDX220

Post by thirdgenlxi »

Welcome! Congrats on the new bike :mrgreen: You aren't by chance the guy that just bought the 220 from a guy over by Statesville, NC, are you? lol. Had one posted in our local group a couple days ago and a couple of the guys were interested in it, but it sold later that same day it was posted there (to somebody else)