i need help!KIPS issues

Got questions? We got answers....
Budget_89KDX

i need help!KIPS issues

Post by Budget_89KDX »

Ok this is a little long and drawn out but here it goes.I have the expansion chamber off and decided to check the kips was working.I moved the rod in and out and looked up in the exhaust port to see 2 of the 3 valves moving the exhaust valve and (if you're standing in front of the bike the left side) left side working.so I pop the cover off that say kips on it and with a small screw driver I was able to move it a 1/4 of a full turn.I did this while moving the shaft back and forth and now its engaging but you can some times rotate the valve apparently past the good teeth and it doesn't engage and doesn't move.I'm new to the kips and I didn't do the work to the topend and don't know if it was done right but looking at the diagram the left is open while the right is closed is this right?can I do away with the kips and if I do how do I do so and what are the effects of doing so?anyone got pics of this thing and how it she look opened and closed?I'm extremely confused.
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

The manual does.... :wink:

They are either both open or closed....
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
Budget_89KDX

Post by Budget_89KDX »