Overheating help please

Got questions? We got answers....
ihatefalling
Supporting Member

Overheating help please

Post by ihatefalling »

Hey guys, took the old girl out for it's first woods ride in months yesterday...man it felt good!

However....for some reason it overheated and was spewing steam from the hose down by the rear brake pedal.......it did so at a place that I would never expect it too ???

Maybe I was paranoid, but ti seemed to be running a little hot all day. The outside temps were fine so I would have never thought it would run hot.

I've read a few threads about replacing the radiator cap but what about this....

I put new reeds in it before the ride. I didn't adjust the jetting tho. Think that has domething to do with it? I'm NOT a jetting expert at all.
Last edited by ihatefalling on 10:09 am Sep 27 2010, edited 1 time in total.
2005 KDX 220
R&B Carb Mod
R&B Head Mod
Fork Swap - 99 KX125 Valved for B woods plush
FMF Gnarley
Airbox Mod
Tagged
gregp

Post by gregp »

The RB head mod should not make your 220 overheat. You mentioned that you had installed new reeds - make sure you do not have an air leak around the reed cage. You do not mention that your bike "felt lean" at all (some signs would be: bogging throttle, high idle that does not want to come down, extremely "revvy" feeling motor - and, running hot).
Some things to check - your pre-mix (make sure you have enough oil in it), the water pump/impeller/seal, the head gasket, and the radiator cap (make sure it is fully and correctly seated).
The KDX200/220's are very reliable bikes, and should not overheat easily. You can add some Water Wetter, or another coolant additive if you do not find something obviously wrong. These items work, and can take 10 degrees off of your operating temperature fairly easily.
2004 Dual Sported KDX200
1999 Ninja 250 (Daughter's)
1996 DR 650 (stock, mostly street use)
NewMexico505

Post by NewMexico505 »