Top End Rebuild Time.

Got questions? We got answers....
MaD_SheF

Top End Rebuild Time.

Post by MaD_SheF »

Hey guys. Well, its time to rebuild the top end. My 220 is an 02, and I got it used.. So I dont know if its ever been done, but sure feels like it needs it. Well I have never done a rebuild by myself before, so is there any tips or tricks I should know before I start?

Thanks guys!
"I didnt quit riding becuase I got old, I got old becuase I quit riding." Best quote I have ever heard haha.
kdxinmt

Post by kdxinmt »

I was going to post the exact same thing but for my 1998 kdx 220. Maybe we can kill two birds with one stone here.

Any help people can offer is much appreciated!
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Yes... support the KIPS actuating shaft with a 8mm wrench (There is a notch to do this if you pull the boot way down) when you take the LEFT HAND THREADED nut off. So... It's RIGHTY LOOSEY!

Use a Scotch-Brite pad to break the glaze on the cylinder... just go around and around.

Make sure that you seat the Circlips solidly in a 6 or 12 O clock position.

If I think of any more, I will post them.
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
skythrasher
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by skythrasher »

Don't replace with OEM piston.
My Gallery
2001 KDX200
1987 KDX200
2002 CR250R
2016 KTM 350XCF-W Six Days
MaD_SheF

Post by MaD_SheF »

Thanks Inda!

And Wiseco all the way. :]

Thanks guys.
"I didnt quit riding becuase I got old, I got old becuase I quit riding." Best quote I have ever heard haha.
kdxinmt

Post by kdxinmt »

I see Wiseco is recommended. Is there any other parts or part kits for a top-end rebuild you guys can recommend?
Julien D
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net