Grenade service questions...

Got questions? We got answers....
heckler

Grenade service questions...

Post by heckler »

I'm new to bikes, but pretty good with a wrench. I just discovered my 3 week old (to me) 2003 KDX220 is in desperate need of a linkage/shock bearing rebuild. I plan on getting a Pivot Works kit.

Do I need any special tools to replace linkage/shock/swingarm bearings? Outside of wrenches, sockets and a vice, I don't have any special bike tools, but I can press mountain bike bearings into a frame using those.

In the process, I also want to tear off the head and cylinder to check my piston.

Again, do I need special tools to look for the Wiseco? The previous owner said his prev. owner had rebuilt the top end, but didn't know any details. I don't plan to replace anything unless I find a stock piston in there.

Do I have enough seals in this gasket kit I bought to get at the piston and reinstall it? Thanks!

[/b]
exbee

Post by exbee »

I did my linkage bearings recently with the same tools you have, it wasn't too bad. If you've done mountain bike bearings it should be fairly similar.

Can't tell you anything about the motor...haven't done that yet...
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

This should be enough for a top end. The tusk kit doesn't come with the o ring for the rod of the kips subvavlve, usually don't need it though.
If you're going to pull the cylinder off, it's a good idea to replace the piston rings.
If you do need a new piston, you'll need to order a new rod bearing since it doesn't come with the wiseco kit. (dat sux)

Also I hope you heard about supporting the actuator shaft when you remove the left treaded nut, if not do a search.
heckler

Post by heckler »

Piston rings - check.

What about assembly tools?

I have access to measurement tools (calipers, ID bore gauge, gap gauges etc).
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »