my "new" mostly stock '05 KDX220 - suggestions?

Got questions? We got answers....
ack

my "new" mostly stock '05 KDX220 - suggestions?

Post by ack »

Hello all,

I'm new to dirtbikes, and I just picked up my first KDX220 and have been reading the plethora of info available on it. I ride mostly pinewoods and trails (mostly real tight and hilly stuff). My other woods bike is a '00 KTM 200MXC, which is costing me a small fortune to maintain.
Here's the rundown on my KDX:
- '05 KDX220 - very clean, low hours w/ NO major Mods (Suspension, Carb, Airbox, Piston are all stock).
- 13T/49T/X-ring Chain
Amazingly enough, the previous owner was about my build (6', 215 lbs), and the suspension feels and works great for me so far.
I rode it for the first time last weekend. One of my riding buds rides an '01 KDX220. He loved mine, and was saying that it had the smoothest power deliveries he's ever felt on a woods bike. He's a big guy (6'3 215) and the suspension felt good to him as well. When we swapped bikes, I noticed a real difference in the power delivery. Mostly, his '01 has a real quick hit, almost temperamental. I know he's running FMF Gnarly and PowerCore pipe, and he's put in aftermarket Reed Valve. Other than that, I don't think he's done any carb mods (maybe some jetting). Being an '01, I dont' know if my '05 would react the same as the '01 after similar mods. A big difference in the bike responses may also be the fact that my riding buddies are exceptional woods riders, and I'm still on a steep learning curve.

The only real change I'd like to make to mine is a bit more of a quicker hit. It's almost too smooth for my liking. I'm not a maniac in the woods, but I feel that my KDX can use a small boost. I also don't want to sacrifice the KDX's ability to grunt in low gears. It's nearly impossible to stall and after I get used to the clutch (the hydraulic clutch on the KTM is just butter), I'm going to really like this bike