KDX 250 Water Pump Seal(s)

Got questions? We got answers....
exbee

KDX 250 Water Pump Seal(s)

Post by exbee »

1993 KDX 250: I have found that there is a thin layer of coolant on top of the pricey Motul gear oil I JUST put in my bike. From my research here I guess I need to start with the water pump seal or seals. I haven't removed any parts yet but from a quick look on BikeBandit I can't determine which parts are the seals:

http://www.bikebandit.com/houseofmotorc ... 42sch54819

Can anyone tell me which parts they are? I'm new to this bike.
I've also read to check the shaft for grooves and replace the bearing. Any further info on this would be appreciated.
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »

there's supposed to be a table that lists the part numbers and the descriptions. Maybe that site is wonky, try Ron Ayers or another one to see if the table shows up.

You're on the right track with checking the shaft so it doesn't eat your new seals and change the bearing. You should be following the maintenance manual, got one?

I personally don't see the need for expensive oil since it gets full of clutch crud anyway. I just replace mine about every 3 rides.
Mike

Life's tough, it's even tougher if you're stupid.
'04 KDX220
Mr. Wibbens
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Mr. Wibbens »

>|<>QBB<
Colorado Mike wrote:. I just replace mine about every 3 rides.
That never makes any sense to me
Warning! This member tends to use sarcasm as a regular form of communication. If a post seems offensive, before you panic and fly off the handle, re-read the post and imagine it being said with a sideways grin.
((Bike Profile))
((Pics))
FIVE OUT OF FOUR PEOPLE DONUT UNDERSTAND FRACTIONS
exbee

Post by exbee »

Here's the page with the list of parts:

http://www.bikebandit.com/houseofmotorc ... us/o/m3542

I do have the service manual and I'm pretty sure I can figure out how to change the bearing & seal but I can't determine which parts to order from this fiche.