New Rider - KDX220

Got questions? We got answers....
JHNguyen89

New Rider - KDX220

Post by JHNguyen89 »

Just bought a KDX220 about 2 weeks ago and am slowly gathering gear to start riding. Haven't ridden it very much besides around the block a few times. It's an 01 KDX220 that I got for $1100. I honestly have no idea if I got whether or not it's a good deal or if I get jipped. Upgrades I've been noted of are VForce3 reeds, Gnarly Pipe, Cycra Bark Busters (not in pic) and some lower gearing.

Though, I've been reading about the piston issues and I've learned that the top end has not been done on the bike. So, I quickly ordered a Wiseco Piston Kit on Ebay and am waiting for it to come at the moment. Is this easy to do on your own, or am I better off finding a shop to have it done for me? I'm new to motorcycles, so I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing.

Also, I've been told I need to purchase a top end gasket kit if I'm replacing the pistons. Is this true?

Image[/img]
Julien D
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Julien D »

Yes, a top end gasket kit would be good to have on hand. A shop manual would also be a nice addition to your new ride. Changing out the piston is easy so long as you take your time and use the service manual. There's another piston changing thread a few threads down on the first page here.

Good luck, welcome, and congrats! Bike looks in good shape. I'd say you got a pretty good deal on it. You'll want to check wheel bearings and swingarm bearings and such as well.

J.
Varmint
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Varmint »

Welcome. Nice bike. I would say you got a pretty good deal. $1100 would be a fair price for it stock and you have some upgrades on it.
In my garage
2003 KDX200
2003 KX85
2005 CRF230F
2009 300 XC-W(e)
My KDX
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »