Oil spooge from exhaust

Got questions? We got answers....
tbirdsp

Oil spooge from exhaust

Post by tbirdsp »

OK, I'm a 2-stroke noob...

How much (if any) oil spooge coming from where the pipe fits into the cylinder is normal?
I see in the fiche that the stock pipe has 2 O-rings and a gasket, does the FMF use the same parts?

(I'm running 40:1)
Last edited by tbirdsp on 04:00 pm Sep 17 2009, edited 1 time in total.
Mike S.
'98 KDX200
'07 KLX250S
'06 KLR650
'93 ST1100
Varmint
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Varmint »

None.

Take it off, clean the connection up well by removing any old silicone and oil and put it back together using some high temperature silicone.

Check out this post:

http://kdxrider.net/forums/viewtopic.ph ... &highlight

CC put a picture of the recommended Permatex RTV black stuff.
In my garage
2003 KDX200
2003 KX85
2005 CRF230F
2009 300 XC-W(e)
My KDX
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »

The FMF pipes (Gnarley desert and woods, or torque and rev) both use the two O-rings as does the stocker. Also there is a copper washer that goes in the exhaust port that typically falls out when someone removes the pipe. Make sure you have one. I goop the area between the O-rings with blue RTV. there should be 2 springs holding the pipe in.
Mike

Life's tough, it's even tougher if you're stupid.
'04 KDX220
tbirdsp

Post by tbirdsp »

Awesome, thanks guys! It was dripping a little before but I had to loosen up the hangers and move the FMF outboard a little to get my shock off and on, now it's leaking more.
Mike S.
'98 KDX200
'07 KLX250S
'06 KLR650
'93 ST1100
fuzzy
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by fuzzy »

Definitely fix it. TO answer your question NO spooge should be coming from the exhaust spigot. A leak there becomes an intake leak of sorts on a 2-cycle with an expansion chamber.
'91 KDX 200 Project $300 KDX
'95 KDX 200 Project $600 KDX
'94 WR 250 Always a project
tbirdsp

Post by tbirdsp »

>|<>QBB<