Which KDX?

Got questions? We got answers....
red_eye_righley

Which KDX?

Post by red_eye_righley »

Hi Guys,
I hope I am not opening a can of worms. I am new to KDX's. I ride a KTM200 and am considering building myself a hybrid KX/KDX. I would like to know which engine is best? I know I should try and go with the latest KX frame etc, but which engine is best in terms of performance. I ride technical terrain, rocks, roots, hillclimbs etc, the tighter the better - we like to push instead of ride :oops: .... But I ride harescrambles as well so a little speed is never a bad thing! :grin:
So, I know the 220 motor is more of a lugger so I suppose that would be the answer? But would it not be better to do the 200 to 225 conversion? So, any advice here? I am wanting to build this bike as an alternative to a KTM200 (new one) and am therefore wanting to build "the perfect bike" if possible (Ive seen them in the hybrid section :supz: :prayer: ).
Any advice would be appreciated. Cheers
Jonooffler

Post by Jonooffler »

Are you mad don't bother with the KDX it will never be as good as the KTM. Trail bike mag in the UK did a review in 2002 with the KTM200 Gas Gas 200 and the KDX 220.
As they pointed out the KDX was a old bike then in 2002 ( but good ) it will never compeat with a newer bike it just too old school.
I stand back and wait for the fall out on this one.
I could scan the review in and email it you if you would like.
Been riding off road for 10 years still finding out how best to do it.Riden a DR125 then a DT125R then a DR125 then DRZ400 then XR250 then a TE610 now I hope that I have found the best a KDX220 just to add the KDX has gone now riding a WR426 which I love and is so much better than the KDX.
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

I want to know... how so?
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****