Rear linkage service

Got questions? We got answers....
bezoar
Supporting Member

Rear linkage service

Post by bezoar »

I am considering a new project on my 'new' 2004 200. Not sure if the rear linkage and swingarm bearings have ever been greased. I am a novice at this, but your advice has been a great help.

My question is, when I get everything apart, assuming the bearings and all seem to be in good order.........do I clean the bearings then re-grease - or just add grease? I searched previous threads and seemed to get mixed opinions.

Thanks
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »

it's better to get the old stuff out, since it probably has water and abrasive stuff in it.
Mike

Life's tough, it's even tougher if you're stupid.
'04 KDX220
bezoar
Supporting Member

Post by bezoar »

Any thoughts on the best way to clean it.
thanks
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »

kerosene and rags work. If the bearings are seized in the swingarm, you're in for a treat, you might want to find a friend with a press.
Mike

'04 KDX220
bezoar
Supporting Member

Post by bezoar »

I am almost afraid to remove the swingarm :lol:
bezoar
Supporting Member

Post by bezoar »

OK, so I just got the swingarm and linkage off. As far as I can tell, there is no grease ANYWHERE!!!!!!!!

I removed the dust seals and bushing from the lower shock mount. I have also removed the other two bushings. My next question is can the other two seals (not the lower shock mount) be removed without damaging them? Should I just clean and regrease at this point?

The bearing pins all look pretty good, so I would prefer not to try to remove and replace them if possible.

Thanks!
KarlP
Supporting Member III
Supporting Member III

Post by KarlP »

The bearing pins won't fall out; they are held in a cage that is part of the bearing.