dead/worn clutch?

Got questions? We got answers....
kdxquebec
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

dead/worn clutch?

Post by kdxquebec »

What is the best way to tell if the clutch is still in good condition?

Just came back from the woods with a bad feeling.

My back tire is half worn and the trails are really muddy,wet ,soft these days.

But i can feel a little clutch slippage on the road too...

My clutch lever is adjusted with appox 5-10mm of freeplay,and cable is almost new.

Bike is a 89 200 with the original clutch.

How much cost a clutch replacement by a technician?(mecanic)

Thanks.
'89 KDX 198cc '03 Gasgas Ec250 '13 Husaberg Te300
*CANADA* LEADING THE WORLD IN BEING JUST NORTH OF THE UNITED STATES.
johnkdx220
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by johnkdx220 »

Salut Kdxquébec!

Do yourself a favor and check it by yourself. Clutches are a mistery until you take one apart. I am not a clutch expert but having swaped my clutch for an EFM and knowing you personnaly, I know you can easily check the condition of the clutch by taking it a part (eg. You will see evident wear marks on the pressure plate and inner hub teeth). You do have your service manual, right ?

Come on, you can do it... Take and post pictures on your msn.group site and here.

Spare your money for the ride in Saint-Michel des Saints (autre festival de bouette...)
KDX220 (RB'd, EFM Autoclutch, FMF Rev, KX front end... Crash proofed and crash tested tOO often !)
kdxquebec
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by kdxquebec »

Hi friend. Yes,I do have a manual.I went thru the clutch section several times before go sleeping :mrgreen: and i will read it again tonight.I know i should be able to remove and inspect the clutch assy correctly but i use to destroy things these days..... :evil:

======Spare your money for the ride in Saint-Michel des Saints (autre festival de bouette...)======= (mud fest)