KDX rebuild - lack of parts/expertise/sound mind (with pics)

Got questions? We got answers....
dhfox

KDX rebuild - lack of parts/expertise/sound mind (with pics)

Post by dhfox »

First off, I've tried searching as much as I could but, maybe cause I'm a beginner at this I need things spelled out a little more clearly!

Ok, we are rebuilding the top end of this old KDX220B here (I'm in China). This model came with turn signals, speedometer, metal gas tank and oil injection (notice oil tank hiding behind the 199 rear side plate).

Question 1 - Crank shaft:
Found that the crankshaft's rod has some pretty obvious side to side play. We didn't measure it (not sure how), but it's very likely out of spec. What do you think?

video of crank play here: http://www.vimeo.com/3182701

Here are pictures showing the gap (red arrow) where I saw and felt the side to side play:

Now, do we need to replace the entire crankshaft assembly, (as in part numbers: 13037, 13037A and others?)

Or can we just buy something like this to solve the problem: (wiseco rod kit)

Question 2: Cylinder
This cylinder has seen better days... and probably zero mantainance in its lifetime. Replacement seems necessary. Question is, is this cylinder the same as other KDX220R models (like the KDX220-A4 KDX220R (1997))? The reason why I ask is because this model is the KDX220 oil injection (street legal) model sold in Japan. I don't know if the US ever got this one. The only parts diagrams I can find are for the KDX220R... If the cylinders from both engines are the same, then I could buy a KDX220R cylinder off ebay pretty easily and just bolt it on to my engine.
If pictures will help, please examine these of the cylinder off this bike: