questions about a new to me KDX 200

Got questions? We got answers....
cowboyexpress

questions about a new to me KDX 200

Post by cowboyexpress »

Whats up boyz n' girls. I'm a newbie to dirt bikes. Just got me an 02' KDX 200. whats the story on these?

It has an FMF Gnarly pipe and tubine core 2 muffler. I'm not sure which one. How can i tell if it the rev pipe or the low end pipe?

what other mods are needed? the tranny has been all rebuilt on it.

motor is suposiblely new (bike has been sitting for a year) and has a .005 over piston in it. is this engine sleeved or nicasil plated?

It rattles a bunch at idle. is that just the KIPS doing its thing?

I'm a beginer rider. what things can be done to improve the low end power of the bike as i'm a bit timid to really get on the pipe.

I'm a mechanic and a 2 stroke engine portgrinder and have lots of experience with sled engnes. But i have zero bike experience. i've only got about 10 hrs of riding on dirt bikes. i've been riding sleds for 20 years. I'm just looking for info and opinions before i venture out into the unknown on motor bikes.

thanks in advance. BTW this seems like a really cool site. :supz:
02' KDX 200
radonc73
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by radonc73 »

The KIPS rattles alot it is very common. You can always change the sprocket gearing for more low end. THere is a gear ratio finder on this site. Just take your time learning to ride, there is no use in rushing things along experience will come. At least you can now ride year round b/w the sled and the KDX.
Get the right protective gear, boots, helmet, goggles and stay on the trail.
Riding is living everything else, is just waiting.
Master of the casual pace
83 KDX 200
93 KDX 250
84 YTM 225 DX 3-WHEELER
ihatefalling
Supporting Member

Post by ihatefalling »