RB carb/head mod-final question b4 taking plunge

Got questions? We got answers....
midlifemoto

RB carb/head mod-final question b4 taking plunge

Post by midlifemoto »

re: my 06 KDX 200...as stated, it has stage 1 perf upgrade, pipe, jetting and air bix lid removed.....it really runs great...and although the RB changes are overwhelming stated as positive, i've concluded that it is more the exception than the rule that it bolts back on turn key. Sounds fairly fickle and tempermental to get right. My thing is, I have no experience knowing what behaviors require jetting needs, air screw, pilot screw, etc. I get aggravated easy with this kind of stuff and don't want to spend 1/2 the riding season fighting this especially since, as stated, I don't know WTF I'm doing. Thoughts? thanks!
jc7622
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by jc7622 »

You sound like me midlifemoto. I can build pretty much anything, but when it comes to properly jetting a bike you can forget it. I have tried over the years and usually get it more screwed up than when I started.
canyncarvr
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by canyncarvr »

It will come back 'turnkey' if that means, 'Will it run?' Nothing done jetting-wise by someone else in a shop is likely going to be perfect. Heck, another rider...a jetting geru even...could ride your bike WHERE you ride it, jet it to suit him (her/it/them?), and it STILL wouldn't be right. For you.

No reason to spend 1/2 the riding season messing with it. It's not that picky a thing.

But...considering the situation...you might REconsider. Any bike will benefit from a good tuning..including one with RB's modifications. If you don't want to mess with it...then don't. This point of view:
..it really runs great..
is much preferable to hearing
I just put on my RB'd carb and head..now my bike won't start and if it does start it doesn't run and if it does run it doesn't run for diddle and why on earth did I ever mess with it anyway???