Any good substitutions for.....

Got questions? We got answers....
KDX Butterfly
Queen B
Queen B

Any good substitutions for.....

Post by KDX Butterfly »

a flywheel holder?

You guys all know I'm new at this so be kind.

I absolutely cannot get the clutch hub nut off to get my clutch basket off short of having a FLYWHEEL HOLDER.

What can I do to get that sucker loose?
"If I were just two inches taller, I wouldn't be me." ~KDX Butterfly
TopperHarley
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by TopperHarley »

use an impact, put it in gear, or bring the piston to where it is on its way up but not all the way. you will need a little roomin the top of the cylinder for this. It is a technique I have used when doing valve springs on a v-8 to keep the valves from dropping into the cylinder. with the plug out, start feeding in a long section of nylon cord. you want to have the piston up past the exhaust and intake so the cord does not go that rout. The idea is to fill the cylinder enough so that the piston ccompresses it and stops the piston before it gets to the top of its travel. Make sure that you are going the right way when getting the piston into position by rotating the flywheel in the direction that the nut need ot thread off. I have not done it this way on a 2 stroke but I do not see why it wouldnt work.
If you run into Heidi, have her look me up in her little black book and give me a call.
Im feelin a little wild today.
http://stores.shop.ebay.com/GATEWAY2-STROKE
2005 KDX220 mine
2003 KDX220 mine(under construction)
1998 KDX220 1/2 Brother-in-laws, soon his own
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Rattle gun!
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
KDX Butterfly
Queen B
Queen B