Bike Lurching

Got questions? We got answers....
jonyfiver

Bike Lurching

Post by jonyfiver »

Hello I have a 1990 kdx 200 and when I pull in the clutch and engage the gear it jumps ahead, if the RPMs are high it is fine but as soon as they drop it tries to pull ahead and usually stalls?? I am sure you guys know whats wrong
2001kdx
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by 2001kdx »

does it do this only when cold? I'm no clutch expert by any means, but you're plates might be warped. My KDX never had that problem.

My RM does that when it's cold. It's a suzuki thing though, they're known for grabby clutches. Bike came with a new set of plates though :supz:
jonyfiver

Post by jonyfiver »

nope it does it warm, I just got it though so perhaps I sould drain what oil is in it and replace with 10w40 to start
2001kdx
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by 2001kdx »

When was the last time it was changed?
jonyfiver

Post by jonyfiver »

I have no idea just got it a few days ago
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Try adjusting it....
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
jonyfiver

Post by jonyfiver »

I did that was the first obvious thing to do it was tight so I adjusted it to give some play and it seemed to do the same thing, I will play with it some more but don't think thats the problem
2001kdx
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by 2001kdx »

If you don't know the last time the oil was changed than that's what I'd do first.
jonyfiver

Post by jonyfiver »

The oil looked almost white, so I changed it and there is no difference, if I keep feathering the throttle lightly it won't stall but if I let off it dies, the clutch does not slip at all and I used 10w40,