Installing Moose brush guard question.

Got questions? We got answers....
gtoron

Installing Moose brush guard question.

Post by gtoron »

Ok guys I have a question for you. I bought Moose hand guards for my new 05 KDX.

Went to install them today and have a problem. The end of the handlebars (the inside diameter) is not big enough it is just a small hole. After cutting a hole in the end of the grip expecting the end of the bars to be a little smaller that the OD of the bars I was surprised to find a small hole maybe 3/8 of an inch, far to small to install the bolt and nut setup for mounting the hand guard to the bar end.

Do I have to cut the bars? Do I need to remove the grip? Also do you need to remove the throttle?

Please someone explain I have never done this before.

Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Remove the controls and remove the bars. Clamp the bars in a vise and cut the bars down about 1 inch on either side. You will have to cleanup the cut and they will fit. Ma Kaw fills the ends to cut down on vibration....
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****

"People ate cows a thousand years ago for the same reason we eat them now. Cause they are easy to catch.We're not savages,we're just lazy. A cheetah could taste like chocolate heroin. But will never know. Those bastards are fast!!! "
gtoron

Post by gtoron »

>|<>QBB<
Indawoods wrote:Remove the controls and remove the bars. Clamp the bars in a vise and cut the bars down about 1 inch on either side. You will have to cleanup the cut and they will fit. Ma Kaw fills the ends to cut down on vibration....
How do I get the grips off? Can you you remove them without ruining them or will I have to buy a new set?

Thank for the info.
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

They can be saved... I do it all the time.