200 vs. 220

Got questions? We got answers....
Jeb
Gold Member
Gold Member

200 vs. 220

Post by Jeb »

I would've guessed there would be a slew of kdx 200 vs. 220 threads in this forum. I'll bet the question has been posed more than once. Perhaps I could have done the search different with more results . . .

Anyway, I can't resist asking because I'm convinced that a KDX is the bike for me at this point of my life - domesticated, riding with a youngster (most of the time) on trails/fields, a bit of hillclimbing, an some visits to some MX tracks (he LOVES mx tracks). My TTR230 isn't bad but only after a few months of owning it I realize that I should've gone with the KDX from the get-go. I've got some background with mx - raced 125 class and 250 class in the 80s (back when those classes existed) . . .

I'm off track. I constantly monitor 200s and 220s on ebay and cycletrader.com to get an idea of what I'll end up spending (and I'll look more seriously, when the time comes, on this forum and others like it). I see great prices for '98 - '04 models.

So what are the pros and cons? I've sensed that there are issues with the wrong-sized carb on the 220 and that there is some piston malfunction issue as well with the 220. I WILL end up modding the kdx I get - that's part of what's great about the bike: as my son moves into more performance-oriented machines I can keep up somewhat. Any advantages of one over the other when it comes to modifications? How about power? 'Seems like the 220 should have one over on the 200 but I don't really see that discussed much.

Bottom line is I can't wait to get one! I actually want a model that's as stock as possible so I can see through the mods and sort of grow with the bike. I remember trying to ride a YZ250 some 20 years ago in the woods wishing for something that had good power but that didn't jettison me in directions I didn't want to go. 'Looks like I'll be living that dream soon enough.