Anyone running a projected nose plug?

Got questions? We got answers....
Bailey28

Anyone running a projected nose plug?

Post by Bailey28 »

Any thoughts on running a projected nose plug, such as the BPR8ES? I have seen a few two stroke bikes running these plugs, and have read good things about their characteristics.

Projected nose plugs can stay warm under light throttle low speed situations to avoid fouling, and can keep cool during high speed operation from being in the direct intake charge path... Sounds good to me, but I'm not an engineer. I read also that it may make the timing appear to be advanced slightly due to activating the flame front closer to the top of the piston.

Not sure if this is something others have tried and liked, all clearance issues between the piston and the electrode taken into account. Then again, on one site, can't remember where, I read that the insulator might disintegrate and fubar the motor. My weed whacker as an extended nose, my scooter has one BP6HS, why cant the KDX get one?
FAZ
canyncarvr
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by canyncarvr »

Yes. I have a thought on the matter.

Absolutely do not do it!

I had some correspondence with NGK about these 'P' plugs a few years ago. One of their 'techs' obliged me with a response (that I lost in a system crash long ago) that said, 'Absolutely do not do it!'

...which is where my thoughts on running a projected nose plug came from.

:wink:

A KDX that is even 1/2-way decently jetted...doesn't have to be spot on...can run a plain old -ES plug with absolutely NO fouling problems for WAY longer than it should be in the bike...I mean years.

Consider the source
Using a perceived level of knowledge to boost my self worth.
Non impediti ratione cogitationis

bike profile: !clicky!
Roland C

Post by Roland C »