VERY Tight Clutch Lever ???

Got questions? We got answers....
jwh02017

VERY Tight Clutch Lever ???

Post by jwh02017 »

Hello everybody, this is my first time posting on here. I bought my first dirt bike about a month ago. It is a 2000 KDX200. I've rode my buddies dirt bikes a few times, so I decided I needed my own :grin:

I've been riding the bike on the weekends and weekend before last I had a clutch cable start to break on me. I thought it wasn't a big deal, I bought a new one and installed it no problems. The guy I bought the bike off of said he was running ATF. Since the book calls for Oil, I decided to swtich to a GTX 10W-40 oil. Now here's my problem, after I installed the new clutch cable, I noticed the lever was REALLY hard to pull. I switched from ATF to 10W-40 oil before the cable problems, so I wouldn't "think" the fluids would be the problem. I've tried playing with the perch adjustment and the adjustments on the cable itself, but I have yet to loosen it up any. My buddy said I should be able to pull the clutch lever with one finger. There is no way I can pull it with one finger. I have to use all my fingers to pull the lever. It's actually so hard to pull back that this past weekend I developed a bruse on my middle finger from pulling the lever so much. Up to this point, the bike has never caused me to get a bruse on my finger from the lever....haha I've checked the cable and it doesn't have any kinks and if you free both ends, the cable slides real easy. I've also tried to lub the inside of the cable. Here is the cable that I bought... Motion Pro Terminator Clutch Cable.

Right now, I'm thinking of switching back to a ATF instead of the oil to see if that does anything. Since I don't think it has to do with the cable or the lever adjustments, I'm now wondering if there's something inside the case that is making the clutch lever too tight??? Is there any kind of adjustments inside the case I could do?