Aluminum or Steal rear sprocket ?

Got questions? We got answers....
beeds3000

Aluminum or Steal rear sprocket ?

Post by beeds3000 »

I'm new to the dirt bike thing and my bike needs a new rear sprocket what is better an Aluminum or Steal one? also is there any difference between the two thanks ???
Geoff T. Biderman
m0rie
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by m0rie »

Weight would be the biggest difference.
1989 KDX 200
2007 TTR-50E
canyncarvr
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by canyncarvr »

Either material will provide suitable service...directly related to the maintenance of the final drive.

Here's an important item to consider..what does it look like. ;)

Some aluminum sprockets are just plain ugly!!

If your rear sprocket it shot, chances of your chain being any good are slim to none. Putting a new sprocket with an old chain will get you a right-quick-worn-out sprocket.

Consider the source
Using a perceived level of knowledge to boost my self worth.
Non impediti ratione cogitationis

bike profile: !clicky!
Rhodester

Post by Rhodester »

I just bought a new chain and a set of STEEL sprockets to go with it. I like the wear-ability factor of steel sprockets. I don't believe I've ever seen an aluminum countershaft sprocket. I'm assuming that the longevity of steel is the reason why.
'95 200H
NM_KDX200

Post by NM_KDX200 »

I bought a Titax aluminum from RockyMountain and it's lasted VERY well. Steel front, and get two so you can swap them about mid-chain-life.
1999 KDX 200
2001 KDX 220
2002 RM 134
2004 KX 125
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Go with a good quality steel sprocket... once the aluminum one starts to go... it usually doesn't take too long before it's shot.

I'm trying out that Z-Sprocket from monkeybuttparts.com this year....
*** Administrator //***
****'95 KDX 200/****