Suspension...Where to Start?

Got questions? We got answers....
claybo
Gold Member
Gold Member

Suspension...Where to Start?

Post by claybo »

Up until now, I've somewhat neglected my focus on suspension...with 3 other riders in the family it's hard to find time for all the bikes. Anyway, we're getting back into racing OCCRA (OK Cross Country Racing Association) and I'm wanting to get a bit faster on my KDX 220. We raced our first race this past weekend. I'm no expert rider by any means, but man...I've come to realize this suspension is not as good as some of these other guys who can fly around turns way faster than I'm comfortable with with my current setup. (realizing my bike is also about 10-20 years older than most of theirs as well).

My question is where do I start? I've done basically nothing to the suspension (except lower the preload), and I'm pretty sure it's all stock.

What is the first thing you guys would change or check? I have limited time, so I'd like to get the most bang for my buck first then work out the small things later. I'm probably 145 with gear on, so I'm a pretty light rider. Different rear shock spring? Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks everyone.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: Suspension...Where to Start?

Post by KDXGarage »

Lighter shock spring, perhaps a touch stiffer fork springs

Fresh oil, seals and bushings for both ends
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo:
To post pictures from a device: viewtopic.php?f=88&t=24128
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

+1 ^ Spring it to your riding weight, fresh oil, new seals. Best money you'll spend on the bike.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by KDXGarage »

One has to get the suspension freshened up just so it will work like new. AFTER it is in proper mechanical order, THEN one can tune it.

In other words, don't spend money on springs, then ride on worn out forks and shocks and try to get a proper evaluation.
claybo
Gold Member