Electrical issues

Got questions? We got answers....
KanuckKDX

Electrical issues

Post by KanuckKDX »

My mechanic helper decided to try and get my headlight and taillight working. Here's my story.

The headlight is stock.

The tail light is an LED item that draws very little and I installed it myself. The system ran fine for a year. Last fall it had some ugly collsions with the ground and falls in puddles, although we never sucked water or mud into the carb. The lights went out.

This is what he told me he did now.

He bypassed the regulator and the headlight worked and then burnt out the filament. (no surprise there.) Do I really need to buy a new $30CAD bulb?

The tailight still never came on when he bypassed the regulator. I doubt it is responsible for what may be a regulator failure but he wonders. I could be wrong. I am no rocket scientist but you know that since I ride a dirt bike.

Do I need to replace the regulator since bypassing it put power to the headlight? Is there some way to test my regulator?

He has checked wires and continuity except in the tailight.

Any other suggestions? Is my low wattage LED tailight any issue?

Ski, you know all about this stuff. Where would you start?

Thanks all. Tedd
KanuckKDX
'01 YZ426F son's
'02 XR400 still for sale
'04 KTM 450exc it's all about the e-start
m0rie
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by m0rie »

Sounds like your regulator is bad and possibly the led tail light as well. I'd replace just the regulator to start with and test the tail light with a known good substitute.
1989 KDX 200
2007 TTR-50E
KDXSean
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by KDXSean »

Your headlight has 2 filaments (at least mine did). I soldered a wire between the two contacts on the bottom of the bulb and am currently using the second filament.

I also installed an LED bulb in the tail light. Fronts much brighter now.
Colorado Mike
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Colorado Mike »

did you ever measure the output of the regulator?
Mike