1983 KDX200 Pivot Arm needed

Got questions? We got answers....
dmackin2

1983 KDX200 Pivot Arm needed

Post by dmackin2 »

Hi everyone,
I'm new to KDXRider and bought a 1983 KDX200 in the fall with the idea of rebuilding it over the winter. The first bike I had was a 1983 Honda XR200 so things feel somewhat familiar.
So far, I've seen what I expected - front and rear wheel bearings and swing arm bearings need replacement and I just rebuilt the front forks. The cylinder and piston look ok and the compression is good. The clutch was kind of sticky when cold but ok once warm. I'll have a look at the clutch plates and see if they need attention or replacement. Transmission shifts cleanly. I'm a little concerned about the carb but i'll save that for another posting.
Biggest problem so far is I had a really hard time getting the rear suspension pivot arm off (the rocker arm that connects to the head of the rear shock and to the link that goes to the swing arm ). I tried PB Blaster, heat, a BIG hammer, put the bike on its side, repeat the treatment, etc. Nothing moved. Eventually, I used a hacksaw, cut through the bolt on both sides and now have it on the workbench.
Even thought its now in my bench vise, the thing is one solid lump. I don't think its ever been off the bike and greased since new. So, I need a new (used) one. ..... and I can't find a 1983 one anywhere.
I can find a 1986 pivot arm but it looks slightly different. Will that work? If not, any suggestions?
Any and all advice gratefully received.
Cheers,
Donald
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Re: 1983 KDX200 Pivot Arm needed

Post by bufftester »

P/N 39007-1067, $94 through Rocky Mountain ATV, says it would ship 21 Feb. Not sure if I believe that, but its on their page. Other than that Ebay is going to be your other source.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by KDXGarage »

Welcome to kdxrider.net.
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo: