Proper fuel mixture ratio?

Got questions? We got answers....
tonost

Proper fuel mixture ratio?

Post by tonost »

Hello I'm new to KDXRIDER.NET and I have a few questions. I have a friend who decided after hearing my tales of riding in the desert on my bike that he wanted to start riding, so we found a 1989 KDX200 for a good price and we picked it up today. I have been riding for as long as I can remember but I have never owned a 2 stroke, my current bike being a CRF450. I have read an owners manual that stated the ratio is 32:1 but while online I have seen varying recommended ratios. Are these personal preferences that people feel their bikes run well or are their different ratios for different bikes? Also if you have any special tricks or advice for this bike it would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Ryan
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by Ryan »

well obviously when you change the ratio you must change the jetting which im sure you already know, but people like 40:1 because it is one container of 2 stroke oil to every 5 gallons of gas.
2001 kdx220

1987 honda xl250
Indawoods
Creator and Founder
Creator and Founder

Post by Indawoods »

Most run 40:1 because it is fairly safe and easy to mix. Pick a ratio and stick to it is the main thing. Then jet the bike to the determined ratio.

There are alot of tricks for the KDX and they are all over the site. One is to let that bike breath.... If it still has the airbox lid and snorkel on it, first eliminate the snorkel.... but most lose the snorkel and drill 1/2 holes in the lid to boot.