Hyde skid plate

Got questions? We got answers....
SS109
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Hyde skid plate

Post by SS109 »

Just thought it might be good to pass on that Hyde does offer two skid plates for the H-series KDX. One is a regular skid plate (https://www.hyderacing.com/manage.numo? ... rettyPhoto) and the other has a built in pipe guard (https://www.hyderacing.com/manage.numo? ... log&cid=94) for the Gnarly pipe.

I'm a big fan of the newer plastic type skid plates. Less noise, slide over things better, and allow the chassis to flex like Kawasaki designed the frame to do. Anyone running one on their KDX?
Youtube Channel: WildAzzRacing
AZ State Parks & Trails OHV Ambassador - Trail Riders of Southern AZ
Current KDX: '98 KDX220
Old KDX: '90 KDX200 -White/Blue
'11 GasGas EC250R
tropicoz
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Re: Hyde skid plate

Post by tropicoz »

I have no experience but I dig those! I may just spring for one since I need a new one anyway.
John_S
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by John_S »

I'm glad to see they're making them again. I got one last year and the guy at Hyde told me it was the last one they didn't plan to make more. I'm happy with it now and taking it on and off is very easy. But....it was a complete pain in the butt to get correct. It only has a hole where the exhaust flange goes through and I didn't want to take the pipe on/off so I scribed and cut (repeat about 3 more times) and got it good. When I bolted it up the oil drain hole was about an inch or more off. The way it's made you know when it's in place against the frame and kdx hoops on the frame so it was weird. I busted out the dremel and made the oil drain hole oblong until it was right. I love the way it looks and feel that it gives good protection but it's not a straight bolt on. I had seen other guys talk about the initial fitting hassle so I knew I had a little work to do and still wanted it anyway.

There a few pics on this post where you can see it.