Are my forks rebuildable?

Got questions? We got answers....
NCKDX
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by NCKDX »

This my first post so let me start by saying "hello" and "thank you" to all of the users here that have made this forum an amazing resource for someone like me new to the KDX.

Now to my question...I just bought a 2004 KDX 220 and am in the process of rebuilding it. I pulled the forks to replace the boots and quickly realized one of them was shot. No damping effect, oil pours out the top if you turn it upside down, and the top tube extends up significantly farther than the other one. Here are some images...you may have to click to see them.

I'm a decent home mechanic but have never pulled forks apart before.

1) What's broken allowing the one side to hyper-extend?
2) Is it rebuildable?
3) Assuming yes, I'd rebuild and customize for my weight. Are Racetech gold valve cartridges worth the $? What do they do for you?
4) Should I consider a KX fork swap? I have so much to do on this bike that I really don't want to go down a rabbit hole and spend a lot of time with custom fitment, sourcing a bunch of parts, etc., but still have to ask.

In terms of riding style and terrain, I rode a KX80 as a young teenager and now at 42 am just getting back into riding again. I took a guided riding trip in Baja a few years ago on a CRF450…it was a handful but tons of fun. I'm 5'9" and 158 lbs w/o gear. Terrain is east coast woods trails and fire roads we maybe occasional rides in the NC mountains. I'm very comfortable on a bike but guess I'd consider myself an intermediate rider at best. I won't be riding all that often due to travel and family constraints.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: Are my forks rebuildable?

Post by KDXGarage »

Welcome to kdxrider.net. :bravo:

It definitely has something wrong. :shock: I would guess that the cartridge has come loose from the base valve (compression adjuster) assembly.