Make 2003 KDX200 Quieter

Got questions? We got answers....
gshredz

Make 2003 KDX200 Quieter

Post by gshredz »

Hello,
I have a 2003 KDX 200 that I just got. I need this bike to be as quiet as possible. I am taking off the fmf exhaust setup and will be putting on a stock expansion chamber and silencer. Can you pack these to make them quieter? Any modifications you can do to quiet them? Will high temp header wrap really make much of a difference? Thank you! :grin:
John_S
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Make 2003 KDX200 Quieter

Post by John_S »

Mine didn't have a stock exhaust when I bought it but did have the air box lid and snorkel. I think the stock exhaust, air box lid and snorkel is as quiet as it's going to get but I have no experience with header wrap. The snorkel makes a huge difference in quieting it down. Don't try to stuff packing in the pipe. I can't see that ending well.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by KDXGarage »

Welcome to kdxrider.net.

Is the air box lid on? That will help a bit.

The stock pipe and spark arrestor will help. There used to be a company called DB Snorkel. One of those would help. I have seen people do the exhaust pipe wrap. I am not sure how much that helps, as I have never tried it myself.
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo:
To post pictures from a device: viewtopic.php?f=88&t=24128
Slick_Nick
Supporting Member

Post by Slick_Nick »

Why do you want to quiet it?
'00 KDX 220R
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by KDXGarage »

The 1995+ stock spark arrestor is not rebuildable (no replaceable packing inside like a MX bike usually has)
gshredz

Post by gshredz »