At a loss please help!

Got questions? We got answers....
Kdxjarret

At a loss please help!

Post by Kdxjarret »

Ok..... First off I am new to dirtbikes and new to 2T but know my way around a tool box. Here is what I started with, what I have done ,and where I am at.

Bought 96KDX200
Recent top end... I have receipts
Top end done by PO and you can obviously tell it's been off recently. Compression 180psi
Air box opened up
FMH gnarly woods pipe and silencer.
Running extremely rich when I got it. Excessive smoke and spooge. Bike ran but not much power and this is important....never fouled a plug but to be fair I didn't ride it much.

What i have done....
Used jetting guide and started down the list.
Repacked silencer.
Fresh plug
Checked compression 180
Checked Kips, it wasnt working correctly due to the ball bearing on the return spring was missing. Finger nail polish mixing ball works as a replacement. Snaps back as it should and working good.
Doesn't seem to be dropping any crank case oil
Cleaned carb good inspected needles and seats.
Set float to spec and tested for seal
Went from 42P 155M to 32P 150M
Needle second from top notch
600ft above sea level and 40-50F
40:1 Amsoil Dom, 93 non eth
Fuel filter is clean, tank cleaned
Fresh air filter.
Has good spark even when hot
Reeds looked good when checked

Now.....
Bike runs great. Cranks first kick. Good power. Lofts front tire on 2nd with ease i am 205lbs. Runs great then out of the blue it fouls plug. Didn't start doing this till I changed jetting.

Thinks I noticed
Fouled plugs are wet and shiney not oily
It sometimes but not always drips fuel
Air / fuel sre w doesn't seem to really make much changes... This made it difficult to jet.
Jetting seems lean to me but it smokes a nice grey and has min spooge but does have some.

So..... Is my carb just junk?
Jet block gasket maybe?
Mainly is this something other than a carb issue?