Where to buy parts and service manuals

Got questions? We got answers....
Anthony.Sims

Post by Anthony.Sims »

Hello All,
I am new to KDXs and I am having trouble finding parts.
I have a 1989 KDX 200. I have torn it completely down and plan on restoring it back to original as much as I possibly can.
I need all new plastics, including the gas tank. Replace all the hoses, cables etc. and I want to have the top and bottom end redone. I also want to replace the entire electrical, including the magneto, stator flywheel or whatever the hell it is called. The carb will need to be rebuilt or replaced.
I haven't worked on motorcycles much but I am very handy with a wrench. In fact, I do about 90% of my own work on my cars and truck. I checked with my local shop and they wanted $1000 to replace just the seals on the bottom end and do the top end. Seems a bit excessive since I only paid $200 for the whole motorcycle. They also didn't really want to fool with rebuilding the carb. I have allowed myself a budget of $1500.
So where do I buy parts for this thing? Internet search doesn't get me much. No plastics and no fuel tanks.
If I decided to tackle rebuilding the motor what parts and or kits do I need?
is there a shop that someone knows about that I can ship the motor to and have them rebuild it?
Keystone
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Re: Where to buy parts and service manuals

Post by Keystone »

You might be better off selling that bike for parts and spending the $1500 on a decent running KDX200 that doesn't need anything. Unless you like working on bikes, because it's a labor of love.
Anthony.Sims

Post by Anthony.Sims »