Top end question/problem

Got questions? We got answers....
SamJ

Top end question/problem

Post by SamJ »

Hello, I have recently started taking the top end apart for a rebuild. I opened the advancer shaft lever cover to find there was no nut on the end of the shaft. It has been welded, :shock: Im guessing from an past accident or something. So basically Im a huge newb and dont know fully what to do. Maybe try to work around the advancer shaft? cause I dont think its coming off anytime soon... Any advice is appreciated Thanks

Also I know I should have cleaned it up better but no pressure washer and i did my best with garden hose and toothbrush...
Last edited by SamJ on 06:57 pm Nov 17 2016, edited 1 time in total.
SamJ

Re: Top end question/problem

Post by SamJ »

canamfan
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Top end question/problem

Post by canamfan »

That was originally a nut on there with left hand thread. They get twisted off reguraly. I believe there's a set screw under that rubber cover towards the bottom, that you can remove and pull the shaft out. It's been awhile, since I had one apart but I'm sure you can work around it. Take your time and study it, take things apart take pics before, for reference.
Tedh98
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by Tedh98 »

Take the side cover off so you can pull the cylinder.
SamJ

Post by SamJ »