KIPs question

Got questions? We got answers....
ronopolis

KIPs question

Post by ronopolis »

I introduced myself a month or so ago -- mid-life crisis -- I'm new to motorcycles, new to dirt bikes, new to riding, new to non-trivial mechanical stuff. I bought a rough '99 KDX 220 and I tore it down to the frame. I also did a top end -- resurfaced the cylinder, cleaned up KIPS, new piston/rings etc. I have a friend helping me who has a 200, so I'm not doing this blind/retarded.

This weekend I got the bike 85% back together, enough I could kick it over. Many small miracles -- it started up first time (3rd kick -- I have video!!). And now it starts 1st kick every time. The engine sounds great, the few minutes I've run it. I don't have rear wheel, brakes... little stuff like that yet. :grin:

My issue is the KIPS system is not working. If you watch this video (you can jump out to 1:45) you can easily see how tell if the KIPS is working. When I do the same test, I crank the engine, even go almost wide open, and the KIPS gear just barely moves a little if at all. It barely rotates 1/2 a tooth.

I need some help figuring this out. KDXrider KIPS detectives, don't fail me now!