KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Got questions? We got answers....
Chilly

KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by Chilly »

Since Im fairly new to dirt bikes I have a stupid question. I just bought a 99 kdx 200 and Im rebuilding the top end. Should I order the top end kit first or tear it down and look at the cylinder first. The guy I bought it from says the top end is all stock.
diymirage
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Re: KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by diymirage »

sounds more like a partial statement than a dumb question
newbbewb wrote:DIYmirage has it right.

-1996 KDX 200 woods weapon (converted to 99 green body)
-1996 KDX 200 plated street toy (barney edition)
-2003 Yamaha TTR125-L (wifeys bike)
-1997 KDX 220 project bike
Keystone
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by Keystone »

I would remove the top end and have the cylinder measured at a cycle shop just to be sure it is stock. Then, go ahead and buy your rings and piston.
Chilly

KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by Chilly »

I guess what im asking, can the cylinders be bored out or do they have to be replated? I didnt want to buy all stock parts and turn around and send them back if for some reason i couldnt go back to stock. Like i said im new so any advise is helpfull.
bultaco4ever
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by bultaco4ever »

As carpenter's say, "measure twice, cut once." You should measure cyl and piston and then buy needed parts. I got a new to me '93 model three months ago. Took the top end off and found the piston and rings to be in perfect, near new condition. Didn't need those parts. I did need new KIPS valves, though. Check those at the same time you do your measuring.
SS109
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

KDX 200 Top End Rebuild

Post by SS109 »

There are different sized "stock" pistons. We're talking thousandths of an inch but some were still stock sizes.