New Bike maintenance

Got questions? We got answers....
throttleout
Supporting Member

New Bike maintenance

Post by throttleout »

So, now that I'm inspecting my new bike more I've come to think that it hasn't had any maintenance. Maybe ever! For sure it needs wheel bearings front and back. I'm replacing those now. The bottom linkage is so worn that I can move the swing arm at least an inch or two up and down before the shock ever engages. There's a minute amount of play in the steering head. The sprocket are worn, and I can pull the chain about an 1/8" from the rear sprocket. Both rims have good size dent/ bends or what have you. I'm new to dirt bike maintenance so I have some questions. Also, keep in mind that I'm on a budget, but I'm mechanically inclined so I should be able to handle how this on my own:) That's why I bought a $750 bike.

1. How far should I take the maintenance on the rear suspension?

2. Does the steering head bearings need replacing giving the small amount of play? I don't know if there's supposed to be no play at all or not.

3. Can I get by a while with out replacing the chain and sprockets? What's negative about them being worn?

4. Will I notice the rim imperfections?

5. Should I do anything to the top, and what would that be?

6. What else should I look into?

I've gone through the newb thread, and done the basic stuff. Anyways, I'm looking for guidance. Here's some pics for reference.

2000 KDX 200
RB carb mod
FMF rev, power core
Race tech gold valves
Sullyfam
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: New Bike maintenance

Post by Sullyfam »