Got questions? We got answers....
KDXhopeful
Gold Member
Gold Member

Need help. Stumped

Post by KDXhopeful »

Hi All,

2006 KDX 200.

When she is not warmed up like a lot and when you have the clutch in and drop it into 1st gear she shuts off. My young lad has told me if you rev her it doesn't happen. I use Spectro gear oil and changed it not long ago. I am pretty fussy about how our things work and don't like his bike doing this. I have adjusted the clutch and it still does it. I will have to ride his bike more often to make sure everything is okay with it. At 15 all he wants is for it to start and go fast. Any help with this would be awesome as I don't want to have to take it to the dealer. She shifts through the gears without any issues and starts great.

Thanks
Pat
Whoa that was close!!! Damn kid is too fast for me to try and keep up to.
05 Kawasaki KDX 200
07 Yamaha xt 225
pumpguy
Gold Member
Gold Member

Need help. Stumped

Post by pumpguy »

I have no personal experience with this problem on a KDX, but it sounds like you're saying the clutch is dragging when you engage first gear when starting from cold.

First thing I would suggest is the oil. You may find a different gearbox oil will give different results. Many use and recommend Type F ATF. Others use oil specifically labeled for use with a wet clutch. You may need to do a few changes to flush out everything to get better results.

A trick often recommended on Brit bikes is to free the clutch first before actually starting. This involves putting the bike in gear and kicking through slowly a few times with the clutch pulled to free the plates. Then select neutral when trying to start.

Another cause could be a grooved clutch basket. If grooved, those grooves act as cams and prevent the plates from freeing easily. If grooved, a simple file clean-up of the grooves should solve the problem.

Hope this helps. Good luck.
Last edited by pumpguy on 01:07 pm Aug 27 2014, edited 1 time in total.
Gotanubike