HUGE Powerband burst off the bottom! Almost unrideable.

Got questions? We got answers....
Fst96se

Post by Fst96se »

Hey all.

I am new to bikes, so keep that in mind here while I post about topics I know little about! :?

I have three friends that recently bought KDXs... two of them 200s that run great.

One of them is an 04 KDX220. It ran okay when he bought it, but he knew that the Piston issue needed addressed, and did so right away. We found the piston to be a factory piston with a cracked piston skirt.

Top end rebuild was completed (I wasn't there for the re-assemble) and all seemed well.

HOWEVER, all the power is immediately there right off idle, it seems. When you start to accelerate, very quickly there is huge powerband hit and all the power comes on. It is really quite un-manageable. Then power dies off quickly and gets really bubbly on the top end.

I am guessing there is a problem with the KIPS valve.

Can anybody give me some insight as to what is happening, and how to remedy it?

Thanks all!
Julien D
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: HUGE Powerband burst off the bottom! Almost unrideable.

Post by Julien D »

The 220 does have most of it's power down low, and needs to be short shifted to stay in the power. It is possible your valves are stuck, so inspecting, cleaning, and repairing anything in that system should be top priority.
Adamnb1

Post by Adamnb1 »

I suppose the kips sub port valves could be installed backwards (open when they should be closed). You can verify this, but before that I would probably start by remove the slotted cover on the left hand side, start and rev the engine to verify that the main shaft is being actuated and pulling the kips rods out. Here is a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QDJscFPMn4
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

Inspect KIPS for proper assembly and operation. Since he rebuilt the top end he really should give the carb a good clean and then run through the jetting guide