New bike. Where to start?

Got questions? We got answers....
BluZuki

Post by BluZuki »

Just picked up a 1994 KDX 200 that has been sitting for a few years now. I'm new to 2 strokes this is my first. The previous owner purchased the bike and did not put very much time on it before it died on him. He was practicing 1st gear wheelies and was topping it out rpm wise. He did not think it overheated but maybe ran out of gas. Tried starting it again and it ran momentarily before dying again. Was worried about something major being wrong and put the bike up. It was not low on fuel. Was running a 50:1 ratio.
Now here it sits.
I'm not to sure where to start with it. Compression test? Carb clean? Spray of ether to see it fire?
I've read through the newb page which is extremely helpful but seems to be a thread for a running bike. I just need a starting point, so maybe I can get your thoughts on where you'd start. I'd like to get it up and going for the season, without tearing it all apart if I don't absolutely have to.
I don't know when the last time the piston rings or top end has been replaced if ever so I guess I'm confused as to how you know when to replace them and which parts to replace.
Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any replies
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

could be a seized piston if it was held pinned in 1 st for long time...
what pipe are u running?
clean carb, see what jets are in there
do you have spark?
change spark plug, use the correct one.
get fresh fuel mix.
6 Riders
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: New bike. Where to start?

Post by 6 Riders »

here are a couple suggestions. There are many things that you will need to do to the bike, but you need to know if she runs first, or if there are major repairs necessary to get it running.