2 stroke mix

Got questions? We got answers....
bigbytree

2 stroke mix

Post by bigbytree »

I have a 2002 KDX 220. I own a tree service and we run non ethinol supreme gas and mix with Husky XP Semi Synthetic two stroke mix. We run all our chainsaws at 50:1 with this mix and gas. Can I run this same mix/gas ratio in my KDX?
Sullyfam
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: 2 stroke mix

Post by Sullyfam »

Only concern I would have is the ratio. Not a lot of oil at 50:1.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

Some folks run 50:1 with Amsoil, but that is a little light on the oil. I've run 40:1 for years with no problem. Make sure you jet to the ratio you use.
Goofaroo
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Goofaroo »

It's not uncommon at all to run 50:1 or even higher on full synthetic oil. I have no experience with the Husky XP semi synthetic but I would be nervous running it at more than 40:1. I ran 80:1 in my GasGas trials bike but I wasn't running it at long sustained high speed (obviously) and I used a blend of race gas and pump gas to help keep it cool. In your KDX, you could probably run at 50:1 or even higher
but 40:1 will give you peace of mind. The jetting needs to be correct regardless of what ratio you use but it will become especially important to make sure you run more oil if your bike is jetted lean. On the flip side, if you're jetting setup is rich you can get away with a lesser amount of oil in the fuel.

For the sake of reliability and long engine life, the simple thing to do is run 40:1 and just make sure your bike is jetted in the ballpark and running crisp. However, I've never heard of anyone having problems just because they were running 50:1. Problems are usually caused by air leaks or completely improper jetting.

If you are hoping to use the same gas for your KDX and your chain saws, you could probably just mix it all at 40:1 or 45:1 and be done with it.
hbgod

Post by hbgod »