Cylinder head lid from H Series onto 1991 E-Series

Got questions? We got answers....
Fireflyer

Post by Fireflyer »

Ok so I'm a newbie here and I am just getting back into this game.

I took a good running rough looking 1991 E-Series in trade to sweet'n a deal. Needs Pipe

I then came across a nice rolling 1998 KDX220 H-Series chassis with everything except for an engine. I haved trolled and found the question asked many times without a clear answer.

So, here we go. Can I get the E-Series Motor in there and other then pipe angle I see that the Cylinder lid has frame stay in different spot. Can I take the lid from an H-Series motor and put it on the the E-Series motor? Is there any performance or fitment issues?

H series Lid

E Series Lid

Also, Anybody else ever do this swap?

Thanks.
6 Riders
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Cylinder head lid from H Series onto 1991 E-Series

Post by 6 Riders »

1st, your pictures did not work.
I have an E and H in my garage right now, It looks like the bottom ends (cases) are the same, so those motor mounts are probably in the same location on both bikes. As far as mounting the top end, the biggest major difference that I can see is the H has 2 head stays, the E only 1. From looking at them, using the H's rear head stay on the E motor should work. You would need the exhaust from an H to complete it, that I CAN tell you 100%. Best way to figure it out, is to try it. you might want to do the top end on the runner anyways, so prep the H for a motor swap, when it's time to pull the E motor out for inspection and repair (good idea since you got it on trade) you can toss it into the already prepped H real quick to see how it fits.
As far as swapping heads, I have no idea if you can just swap the heads out. RB Designs could probably answer that question.
newbbewb wrote:^what he said.
masterblaster wrote:Man 6 riders you rock.
*side note...I'm drunk, so try to read what I'm trying to say, instead of what I actually type
Julien D