Newbie with Rear suspension issues, 2001 KDX 220R

Got questions? We got answers....
BurnerTurner

Post by BurnerTurner »

Hey All,
Im new to riding just purchased a 2001 Kdx 220r. At first I thought the rear suspension just wasn't set up properly, but after tweaking the lower and upper adjustment screws for the rear shock and having little change Im coming to you guys. How do I setup my rear suspension?
I need some help diagnosing if there is a rear suspension problem: I sit on the bike and the suspension is stiff and there is no rebound or bounce. push on the rear fender/back of the seat and the back end goes down but comes up really really slow, its almost like I need to lift it up.
I bought the bike and a buddy checked it over, he said the things in great shape and doesn't look like its been ridden hard, I figure worn out parts are unlikely but what do you guys think?

Thanks for your time.

Apologies if i previously posted in the wrong area ( introductions )
jeeptech1

Post by jeeptech1 »

Sounds to me like your rear shock linkage bearings are frozen up. Had a similar issue on an old cr250 I use to have. Rear end barely moved up and down. Try removing the rear linkage that bolts the swing arm/shock to each other. My bet is the bolts are seized and bearings are shot.
KDXrider1989

Re: Newbie with Rear suspension issues, 2001 KDX 220R

Post by KDXrider1989 »

it could be possible that its been rebuilt and has a heavier oil viscosity in the shock body

but yeah, frozen bearings would be my first guess
adam728
Supporting Member

Post by adam728 »

Frozen linkage or lost nitrogen charge are my first thoughts.

Sent via morse code
BurnerTurner

Post by BurnerTurner »

Thanks guys I will let ya know what I find. How do I know if I need nitrogen?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
BurnerTurner

Post by BurnerTurner »

Just finished pulling the linkage apart, bearings are good. the swing arm moves freely and smooth when not connected to the shock.