KDX220 dropping out of gear

Got questions? We got answers....
Ryansteele

Post by Ryansteele »

First off.... I'm TOTALLY new to dirt bikes, I've had lots of experience with street bikes, and ATV's, but even with those, I'm not a mechanic, but seem to get thru all my projects.

So, the story..... This weekend, my 14 yr old bought his first dirt bike, since his honda 50.... With his own $$$ etc, and said bike has some issues, which we knew about, mostly cosmetic, but all in all, a great bike for him to learn the mechanical side of owning toys. Our primary mechanical issue is with the transmission / clutch / shifter. The bike goes into gear fine, but u need to keep pressure on the gear shift in order to keep it in gear, so in 1st, u need to keep the gear shifter pushed down, and in 2nd to 6th you need to keep your toe pulled up to keep the pressure up, other wise the bike seems to find neutral in between each gear. Shifting is almost impossible due to that neutral, if it gets in the in between spot, u almost need to stop, and shut the bike off, downshift and start over. Now, a few of my friends suspect it's the "shifting forks" that are bent or wore.... But to me it seems to go into gear fine, it just won't stay there. Remember, I am not a mechanic, and have never even had a 2 stroke engine up till yesterday. I've done some research (googling) and there seems to be a spring on the "neutral set lever" that can create issues like this if it breaks....

Has anyone had anything similar to this? Just want to start small before I venture into a engine pull / case split.

Thanks in advance, and I'm looking forward to this new hobby
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: KDX220 dropping out of gear

Post by KDXGarage »

The spring you are referring to is on the outside of the case halves, so no case splitting involved on that.
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo:
To post pictures from a device: viewtopic.php?f=88&t=24128
Ryansteele

Post by Ryansteele »