kdx250 sparking issue

Got questions? We got answers....
HondaGuru

kdx250 sparking issue

Post by HondaGuru »

I got a 1981 kdx250 given to me. I mechanic for a living but mainly 4stroke and street bikes.
Well it makes great compression I cleaned and set up carb like I do anything else. Gave her two kicks fired right up idled just fine on choke. Ran for 1-15 seconds and died. Played around fiddeling with it and no spark.
So out come multimeter. Test stator output voltage to yellow wire from stator 13-19V depending how hard hand kicking with no plug in. I tested power to coil green/white wire and getting up to 13-20v and all power dies when hits coil. Nothing comes out. So I have three other coils tested them same deal. I cleaned stator pick ups with emory cloth now nice and shiney no more rust. That gave me more power thru cdi and to coil. Before was a little weak but it fired right up. Then died.
I have tested Nd tested ohming wires grounds etc all I can think of.

For the life of me I dunno whats goin on why no voltage coming out of coil. Plenty power going in. Now remember I tested three different coils. Even tried different cdi box.
I'm using ngkB8re? Plug.

HELP PLEASE!
pumpguy
Gold Member
Gold Member

kdx250 sparking issue

Post by pumpguy »

Are you sure you have a good ground connection from the coil to the frame?
HondaGuru

Re: kdx250 sparking issue

Post by HondaGuru »

The ground to coil is supplied from cdi and has good resistance. Even put star washer betweens coil and frame just incase it needs ground itsself out.
everybody has said ground ground grounds and I have checked all. Even ohmed it all out.

Any other test I should know about? Are my #s good from stator and to coil from cdi?
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

If you're sure all your grounds and other connections are good try the following.