stock kickstand is beat

Got questions? We got answers....
francis

stock kickstand is beat

Post by francis »

Bought a 2001 KDX 220 on Friday and Saturday morning it was laying on the garage floor. Then as I was working on it on Saturday it nearly took me out on the right side. I had to let it fall because it caught me off guard. One bolt on the kickstand is stripped. Was thinking of a healy Coil but the kickstand has a lot of free play. So I'm thinking the trail tech and I seen a couple of set ups here and I like the one where you drill and counter sink a new hole instead of using the spring hole. Are there any negatives to this way of mounting. Any opinions would help.
Cha Ching

Re: stock kickstand is beat

Post by Cha Ching »

Same issue with my '01. I have been running without a kickstand for a few months. Trees are my friend.
SS109
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

stock kickstand is beat

Post by SS109 »

Stay away from the crappy Trail Tech stand. The only two worth putting on a bike is the factory one or one from Pro Moto Billet. No, they don';t specifically make one for our bikes but it isn't that hard to make up a mounting plate.
Youtube Channel: WildAzzRacing
AZ State Parks & Trails OHV Ambassador - Trail Riders of Southern AZ
Current KDX: '98 KDX220
Old KDX: '90 KDX200 -White/Blue
'11 GasGas EC250R
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

stock kickstand is beat

Post by scheckaet »

I disagree with ss109,
1 the stock one is complete garbage
2 I'm happy with my trail tech moded kickstand
francis

Post by francis »

I have a pro moto billet for my 05 RM 125 and did a quick test fit on the KDX and didn't like the way it hung below the skid guard. My concern is that the trail tech one doesn't seem to have much material left after drilling and countersinking. Has anyone ever broke 1 at the mounting point.
diymirage
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by diymirage »