KIPS Advancer shaft alignment?

Got questions? We got answers....
Clifford

Post by Clifford »

Just replaced the water pump seal on a 96 KDX 200, when I pulled the right side engine cover I discovered the pin that holds the plastic gear on the KIPS governer was snapped off. I clean out all the bits that I could find and replaced the pin. Now upon reassembly the KIPS advancer shaft alignment seems off. At rest the claw gear alignment pin is pointed toward the rear of the bike. Does one have to apply some rotational force (over coming the spring on the governer) to get the shaft and claw gear to line up correctly? Also, what would cause the pin on the govener to sheer off? I do have a service manual and supported the advancer shaft while undoing the LHT nut that holds the claw gear.
I have read so many horror stories about the pin on the shaft breaking off and taking out the primary gear and clutch that I don't want to go down that road. Am I being paranoid?
I am very new to dirtbikes.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

"pin that holds the plastic gear on the KIPS governor"
can you be more precise? don't recall any plastic bits in the kips...
Clifford

Post by Clifford »

The pin is part # 92043-1319 and the gear is part #59051-1189 from the parts fiche. They are part of the exhaust advancer governor inside the RH engine cover.

Thanks
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

1st time i've heard of anyone having issue with these parts.
Is there any bearing around that could be seized?
Clifford

Post by Clifford »

There is a bearing that it rides in but the bearing checks out ok.

Maybe I am just "lucky" and this is a freak thing that broke.
I have had the bike for about 4 month and don't really know how well the previous owner maintained it.