My first post... question

Got questions? We got answers....
jworth94

Post by jworth94 »

I recently bought a 2004 KDX 220R. You guys already know this, but what a fantastic bike. I was running through the woods like I have never done before. I am coming off a KLX-250S, which is a pretty heavy bike. I really like the throttle response on this 2 stroke (my first.) I read many posts prior to my purchase, and felt comfortable making the leap into the 2 stroke arena. It took a little getting used to at first. Not so much the power, but not having engine braking. I didn't realize how much I depended on the breaking effect of a 4 stroke. But, now after 5 or 6 hours of riding, I feel more comfortable and really like the bike.

The bike was really clean when I bought it, and completely stock, right down to the plastic handguards. It may have the original tires as well, but I'm not sure. There is very little wear on the bike. The usual frame rub areas are present and they don't appear to be overly worn. I checked the carb and everything is still stock. My first compression check gave me a reading of 130 psi on a warm engine.

I'm a 40 year old, C rider, btw.

1st Question
I haven't checked the piston, but I have to presume it's stock since everything else on the bike is. So, here is my first question. Should I bite the bullet and do a top end???? The bike is running great, doesn't smoke excessively. I had a mechanic check it out and he agreed. I don't get any spooge out of the stock muffler after running through the woods. I did get some early on when I ran it in my garage. I'm apprehensive to do a top end because the bike is running so well. What would you guys do?????

2nd Question
I was looking at the header and frame clearence and trying to decide on a skid plate. The header is actually lower than the frame. Do you guys run into issues with the header when crossing logs, etc.???? What skid plate should I install??? Do you have spare headers on hand, just in case?