Power loss in the middle - '05 KDX220

Got questions? We got answers....
ack

Power loss in the middle - '05 KDX220

Post by ack »

I'm pretty new to all this and not very technical, but I've been trying to figure out a problem I have with my KDX220. I am losing power in the middle of the throttle range (that might not make much technical sense, but I'll try to explain).

Off the line, the pull is good. If I stay on the throttle, the power flattens out, then once it gets up in the high rev range, it seems to come to life again. It doesn't bog in the middle, it just stays flat.

Specs:
2005 KDX220R - bone stock.
I put a new Wiseco Std. Bore Piston Kit (all gaskets, rings, pistons, etc.) about 20 hours ago. Since then, it starts 1st or 2nd kick every time.

Carb: Keihin PWK33 (stock)
Main Jet: 145
Pilot: 42
Needle: R1173L (#5 slide) - Clip at 3rd position
Air Mixture Screw: -1.5 turns out
Airbox Snorkel is removed.

Spark Plug: NGK BR8ES (gapped @ .7-.8)
Gearing: 13/49
PreMix: Redline @ 40:1 or AmsOil Dominator @ 50:1
I ride mostly trails at Sea Level - 2000 ft.

This issue happens regardless of altitude.
New mods (today): FMF Gnarly "Desert"/PowerCore2 (sounds great and has a bit more low-end torque).

If anyone can steer me in the right direction to get this flat spot out, that would be greatly appreciated. For a while I was thinking that this issue might be Jetting Needle/Clip related, but I'd like to read more to better understand.

Thanks!
Steve
Steve
Raleigh, NC
'05 KDX 220, '00 KTM 200 MXC, '04 KLR 650, '03 WR450
Just learnin' and looking to have fun.
rbates9
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by rbates9 »

Try jetting. Might be something screwy with the ignition also.
gsa102
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by gsa102 »