Thinking about getting a new helmet soon

Got questions? We got answers....
KDXrider1989

Thinking about getting a new helmet soon

Post by KDXrider1989 »

Looking at a fox helmet, V1, V2, or hopefully V3. tried a V1 and V2 on at a local cycle gear and like the look, fit and comfort, the padding is pretty tight around my face but I know it will loosen after a few rides. Do you guys have any experience with these helmets? Or what helmets do you guys wear and what are your opinions on it?
MadMax

Post by MadMax »

I got a great Ebay deal on a Troy Lee year before last and love it. Otherwise, as far as I know, HJC is the best bang for the buck helmet out there.
MadMax
Jedi Master Team 5150
SS109
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by SS109 »

Sorry, I have no experience with the Fox helmets. I have three that I use.

My summer helmet is a Klim F4. Bar none the best helmet I have ever owned. You can just tell it is quality from the get go with aluminum, not plastic, visor screws, how the liner is made, etc. It also has the best ventilation you can find. Air flow is very important to me out here in the desert. I overheat easily to begin with, and then add in the desert heat, so I couldn't ride as much in the summer without it! It came with a high quality bag, extra visor, extra visor screws, cold weather liner, and cold weather face guard. I actually have been using this helmet recently in the cold weather and have been pleasantly surprised that it works great in temps down to about 40f. Maybe will do fine at even lower temps but haven't had temps lower than that yet. It is slowly becoming my year round helmet. The only negatives are the price ($400 unless you find one on clearance like I did) and that the top vents can possibly catch on tree branches and therefore pulling your head back. I haven't had that problem other than one time and it wasn't a problem. I have heard others say they have had it worse than me and it is a deal breaker for them. So, YMMV.