Setting up the front suspension

Got questions? We got answers....
KDXrider1989

Setting up the front suspension

Post by KDXrider1989 »

2 weeks ago I took my KDX to a MX park for the day. I think I found out the hard way that the front suspension is set way too stiff for my weight, as every bump and turn and jump was slowly beating me up. I rode a friends YZ whose suspension was set for him (he weighs about the same as I do) and it was super smooth and controllable compared to my KDX, granted he has USD forks and I don't but it made me consider setting up my suspension. I went to racetech's website and they recommended .46 springs for my weight, 140 lbs without gear (every spring rate calculator gave me different results) and i currently have them in my bike. But I'm also using emulators and thicker fork oil, and the springs are pretty tight in there as the spacers are relatively large. I'm no suspension expert, so what do y'all recommend? Are the stock spring rates OK? Do I just have to use different spacers and that will solve the harshness?
I played with the clicker adjustments and they hardly did anything
Julien D
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Julien D »

What springs are in there? KDX forks and "too stiff" don't belong in the same sentence. I think the only way to make them too stiff would be way too much spring. There's almost no amount of setup you can do to the stockers to make them too stiff for an MX track. Are you sure they aren't bottoming out constantly, or riding up in the top of the stroke all the time?
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

+1
KDXrider1989

Post by KDXrider1989 »