Need opinion on 94 kdx250 piston

Got questions? We got answers....
hlewis
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Need opinion on 94 kdx250 piston

Post by hlewis »

I know that you can't see it all that well. But does the piston look to be ok and the cylinder walls. I just bought the bike and I'm completely new to 2 strokes and I don't think it is running exactly the way it is supposed to. Also I'm getting a huge amount of spooge coming out. It has an FMF gnarly pipe on it and a stock (I think) Silencer with the guts completely removed from the end of it. I put in a 40 pilot jet and a 155 main. It has a UNI filter in it that is super glued together ( a new on is on it's was). Also I've ordered new Boyseen reeds and a R1367H needle. The FMF pipe does not seem to fit properly. Is there a way to tell if this is the right pipe. It has a funny bend in it. I took it off to make sure that the crush washer and o rings were in there. Which they were. But I'm still getting gunk spitting out around the exhaust port. I tried packing the silencer with pipe insulation and that seemed to kill the bike completely. It is running and it is a ton faster than my XR250 but like I said before I'm not sure if it is running correctly as this is the first KDX I've ever riden. Let me know what you guys think.

Here is a youtube viceo of the piston through the exhaust port. The streaks you see is oil. It does not appear to be messed up. Also there seems to be a lot of gunk built up in the exhaust port. Is this normal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Brpf6sne98

Here is a picture of the bend. Does this look correct?

Here is the spooge

Here is the bike. Someone did a really sweet spray paint job!!

kdxmaniac
Supporting Member

Post by kdxmaniac »

for one..........check the compression! we cant tell by looking at a video thru the exhaust port.

list of stuff to check.

1} check compression......if lower than 130, rebuild and forget the rest
of the list!
2} check air filter